A Peek into My Personal Learning Network

Now that I’ve covered content curation tools, lets take a look at how I integrate the tools to form my Personal Learning Network. My process starts from performing a google search on the topic that I am interested about. For example, “Film Photography”.

Screen Shot 2017-07-19 at 6.01.04 AM

I look at the results and start to read about my search topic. If I find a blog or youtube channel that I like, I will save the URL into my Feedly account. As you can see below, I have 8 resources that I curated. I like these blogs and youtube channels as I find them most informative. At this stage, I am still at the content curation process. Next, I will show you how I share resources that I like.

Screen Shot 2017-07-19 at 6.03.23 AM

If I find something interesting that I want to share with my network, I simply select the link and save it into Scoopit. From there, I compose a short write up to explain what I liked about the article and share it on my Scoopit network as well as my Facebook network. If I want to, I could blog about it too! The screenshot below shows an example the end result in Scoopit.

Screen Shot 2017-07-19 at 6.07.48 AM

I get more interactions on Facebook as my Scoopit account is new and hence the community is small. You can see from the amount of discussion that takes place! Check out the screenshot below.

Screen Shot 2017-07-19 at 6.11.11 AM

There you have it, this is the process of my content curation and knowledge sharing. Just note that I use the same process for content that I create using wordpress, I simply Scoopit and share it with my Facebook and Scoopit community. There is one last piece of my PLN that I haven’t share with all of you. Sometimes, the content that I get from google searches might not sufficient. This is where I turn to experts in a specialized online community. For my photography hobby, I’m a member of the Analog Users Photo Group and Digital Users Photo Group. Currently, there are over 80,000 members and many experienced photographers in the community. I post my questions on a forum an will get an answer within 24 hours!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this introduction into my PLN! What are your thoughts? Let me know with a comment below. Thanks!

 

Leave a comment