Produsage, A Nightmare for Instructional Designers?

A quick google search on produsage will yield the following result:

Produsage is the type of user-led content creation that takes place in a variety of online environments, open source software, and the blogosphere. The concept blurs the boundaries between passive consumption and active production.

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Produsage

Produsage is basically derived from “Produce” and “Use”! While this is really easy to understand, it is difficult to think about it’s applications in the educational context. This problem I suspect, is due to the way I’ve experienced education in Singapore. The way I was schooled was through a “download” centric format. Teacher says, I listen, I remember (try to). The “downloading” process stops after class ends and the cycle repeats itself.

What if the concept of produsage was applied in classrooms? The class I am currently taking now seems to be applying the concept of produsage. Apart from the prescribed materials, I find myself having to learn informally through reading blogs, surfing related websites and watching educational videos. I synthesize my learning, write about it and deliver projects. It is certainly an interesting way for the student to learn. But from the Instructional Designer’s perspective, it might be a nightmare. I came to this conclusion while thinking about my produsage assignment. Before you scream “Really?!”, please allow me to share my views.

  1. For produsage to be effective, the instructor must be a produsage expert. Without the expertise of using and integrating the available Web 2.0 tools, learning can be mundane and counter productive. Imagine attending a class where the instructor attempts to incorporate produsage concepts but fail terribly. It might be better for the student to be taught in a conventional manner.
  2. For produsage to be effective, the boundaries must be ACTIVELY managed. While one may argue that actively guiding students may limit learning, I disagree. Ultimately, students require a feedback mechanism and the best person to provide that feedback is through the instructor. Imagine having to go through material from 40 students! It would be really difficult to provide effective feedback.
  3. For produsage to be effective, learners must want to engage in this method of instruction. Have you ever been to a class and felt that the method of learning was not appealing to you? It might have an effect on the overall learning experience.

BUT!! What if the converse held through? Imagine if the instructor is an expert who actively manages the boundaries, plus, all learners are intrinsically motivated to adopt produsage? Certainly the amount of learning gains will be unlimited. Producing and using from different sources within a community who has specific learning goals will allow students to gain different perspectives really quickly and negotiate their learning. And that’s what I’m experiencing in class now. Pretty cool ain’t it? I suppose my instructors are not having nightmares. After all, the potential of produsage is limitless.

4 thoughts on “Produsage, A Nightmare for Instructional Designers?

  1. This is a great summary of Produsage. Unlike you, I found it difficult to understand at first. But between our professor and now your elaborations, I am beginning to understand the context.

    As for your views, I couldn’t help but agree more. I guess for point 1, it could be true for all types of instruction. A teacher that cannot engage students will also likely fail in imparting knowledge. Similarly for point 3, a self-motivated learner will always stands to gain more, especially in a constructivist approach such as this.

    But I think point 2 is the most important. I like how you mentioned “managing boundaries” because I think for Produsage, the idea is not to ‘spoon-feed’ the answer to the students. Instead, you manage the boundaries by providing certain resources to get started, providing locations where they explore more, and most importantly, teach them to create their own learning networks. People must not go away thinking that learners can therefore be left to their own devices when such a teaching pedagogy is used.

    Like

    1. Hey Joshua, I definitely struggled with the concept of produsage. It’s not as easy as I make it out to be! I finally got it after writing this post. It was definitely easier to internalize produsage after having a little more clarity of thought. I agree that managing boundaries is an important aspect of produsage. In fact I think it is the key success factor! Without it, the learners would go hay wire! I hope my post helped you in your quest for designing a lesson that incorporates produsage!

      Like

    2. The concept is a difficult one to grab on to because it requires us to step back from everything we’ve known and thought about education and embrace a new perspective on it. When the “a-ha” moment happens, people frequently see that they’ve been doing some of this all along. However, finding that balancing point between “highly designed” and “anything goes” is necessary for produsage to happen in a learning context, and sometimes is difficult to figure out.

      Like

      1. Hi Dr. Dennen, this class has been scaffolded in a way that leads us to the “a-ha” moment. I found it really easy to identify with the concept of produsage by reviewing the way this class was conducted! The assignment was much fun too!

        Like

Leave a comment